Inside out

Random musings in and outside the news

Heartbreaking

Posted by Abi Kwok on February 26, 2009

One of our daschunds was officially diagnosed with leptospirosis today. Euro, the usually happy, playful, sweet dog suddenly became so sick. He refused to come to our calls and just lay on one corner. The vet said he must have gotten sick when he ate or drank something that was contaminated by either rat feces or urine. The condition is highly contagious, even to humans. The doctor said the condition is potentially fatal, but if the dog is strong enough (age and physical condition-wise), he’ll live. The bacteria that causes leptospirosis will be excreted through the urine, so everyone (us and our dogs) have to be careful NOT to touch his urine or other wastes.

Anyway, Euro has been confined in the hospital for almost a week now. I visit him everyday, kiss his nose, and assure him that everything will be ok. I tell him to hang in there and to get well for me, for my mom. My mom has developed a strong liking for Euro, one because he sleeps beside her, and two because she treats him like a little kid and cares for him so much.

Then he will look at me with his almond-shaped eyes, his tail wagging, his paw reaching out to me as if saying, “Please take me home now.”

For the first  three days at the vet, Euro refused to eat. He would cry whenever I would get up and leave and his cry was so painful to hear.

The good news is, the doctor said there was an improvement in his condition. He’s eating and drinking now, he has stopped vomiting, and he has become more active — not the usual hyperactive Euro, but it is definitely an improvement.

We decided that we will bring him home either this Saturday or Sunday, after we shop for a good quality, comfortable dog cage on my day off. I know it will be hard taking care of him  and nurturing him back to his old healthy self, but I will do everything I can to nurse him back to health. The doctor assured me that he will be able to be 100% better if we just consistently give him medication.

It’s been a depressing week for me because of this. It may seem shallow to some, but I have grown attached to our dogs in a level beyond the master-pet relationship. I can’t explain to you how good it makes me feel going home everyday and being welcomed by smiling, happy dogs who will lick your face, jump to your lap, and act as if they’re SO happy to see you back home.

To end this:

“A dog doesn’t care if you’re rich or poor, educated or illiterate, clever or dull. Give him your heart and he will give you his.” –John Grogan, Marley and Me.

dsc-1080dsc-10631

Leave a Reply

 
