Inside out

Random musings in and outside the news

My thoughts on Dela Paz

Posted by Abi Kwok on October 27, 2008

 

I have to be honest. The whole controversy on the Moscow incident has got my head spinning, and NOT in a good way. The story broke less than two weeks ago and already I’m bombarded with a WHOLE lot of information that I can’t possibly process in one or two seatings.

I have to say, though, that high-ranking police officers really are rich. The disparity between the non-commissioned police officers (=PO1 to SPO4) and the generals (two-star up) are so huge that a newbie reporter like me is nothing but overwhelmed. 

The sad truth is, these generals are richer than me. Huhu 😦 but that’s OK. I know that their job is way difficult than mine so no worries 😀

But I digress.

It has been a week since Eliseo dela Paz, former PNP comptroller, appeared before media to formally apologize for the incident that, he said, caused an “international embarrassment.” To tell you the truth, I really don’t understand why such a small contingent should bring a huge amount of money. Yes, the costs of living in Russia are high, and yes, contingencies such as medical emergencies do happen in such cases, but still.

I’ve always told (more like ranted. LOL) my fellow reporters that there would be no problem in the first place if Dela Paz just declared that amount. But the damage has been done, as the cliche goes.

I’m sharing some unpublished photos of Dela Paz during his first media appearance last Tuesday:

Anyway, I’m really glad that PNP chief Jesus Verzosa finally stepped up after his major boo-boo at the Senate hearing last Thursday. This time, I’m sure he made a good decision, albeit not enough, as Senator Mar Roxas said. Mistah or not, rules are rules, and the same applies to Dela Paz. 

I know this incident will never end, even though Joc-Joc Bolante is set to arrive here tomorrow. I’m sad for Verzosa because this incident hit his administration less than a month when he assumed the role of PNP chief.

I’ve always told myself: I like to believe that there are still good policemen around 🙂

2 Responses to “My thoughts on Dela Paz”

  1. Hi Abi, generals start at C/Supt rank or the 1-star, not two-star as you mentioned.

  2. Abi Kwok said

    My mistake, thanks for the correction 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
