Inside out

Random musings in and outside the news

Finding Teehankee (late post)

Posted by Abi Kwok on October 9, 2008

It’s a given that, being a journalist, I have to being on my toes ALL the time. That’s why I was a little less surprised when, during a dull day at Crame, I was told by my editor to rush to the New Bilibid Prison in Muntinlupa City to stake out Claudio Teehankee Jr., the pardoned convicted murderer, reportedly living inside the NBP Compound for almost a week.

Yesterday must have been a lucky day for me as I was able to hail a cab who agreed to take me to Muntinlupa without any second thoughts (at the right price, that is). The driver also agreed to wait for me. 🙂 That’s right. But the entire trip cost me more or less P2.5K. But that’s OK, at least I was able to go home safe.

Anyway, I arrived at the Jalosjos home a little past 12 noon and prepared for a LONG day ahead. Several reporters and I attempted to communicate with Teehankee by knocking on his door and slipping him notes. We were surprised when he took the notes, but later on became disappointed when he never responded to them. We left five notes but he answered none 😦

I was waiting there for almost four hours when my fellow PDI reporter called me inside this small house beside the posh Jalosjos home.

It was there that we found Fr. Robert Olaguer, who has been hiding from the media, unwilling to talk to anyone except reporters of PDI. So I was instantly relieved and excited because, hey, we’re getting a scoop right here 😀

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So we got a tip from Olaguer that Teehankee was leaving sun down. So we patiently waited, getting little bits of substantial information from the priest (information that has to be verified, take note, because of their sensitive nature).

At around 6:30, when GMA 7 and ABS-CBN reporters were already busy giving live feeds to their respective stations, the PDI reporter and I decided to scout around the back of the Jalosjos home to check where Teehankee could possibly exit. 

I must admit, I was really scared at that time. See, I was in the prison compound (not the prison per se, but still inside the prison, gets?), there were no street lights, the area was literally a forest, and I was within steps from a convicted murderer. 

So I clung to my fellow reporter and groped my way in the dark until we came upon this clear downward path that leads to who-knows-where. Olaguer refused to go with us for fear of seeing Teehankee, and my fellow reporter and I also were afraid to go down because we might meet some mobs there. We were only two people!  😦

Anyway, at around 7 p.m., we got a call from Olaguer that Teehankee has already left his home! Everything happened so fast from there on. Teehankee reportedly left by riding a motorcycle. We saw a motorcycle but we did not know it was him! So sad. Teehankee slipped from our hands. 😦

Nevertheless, we still got the scoop. INQUIRER.net was the first to break the news about Teehankee’s ‘slip.’ I was laughing inside when I saw GMA 7 and ABS-CBN scramble towards their respective vehicles, probably getting a call from their desk editors about my breaking news story.

Sigh

This is why I love my job 😀

I can’t possibly tell you everything that I’ve been through that night. Maybe if we see each other in person I will. But you can read the stories to at least get an idea how fun that coverage was:

Teehankee ‘slips out’ of Bilibid

‘Now he can experience freedom’

Leave a Reply

 
