Inside out

Random musings in and outside the news

Don’t look away

Posted by Abi Kwok on September 16, 2008

I’ve always looked at TV shows as reliable sources of great indie music. Undiscovered, raw, and underrated artists are often featured in shows like One Tree Hill, The OC, and other CW Shows (to give them credit). OTH Season 5 has focused the spotlight on two “raw” artists: The Honorary Title and Kate Voegele.

To say the least, both are given such huge exposures that a whole episode – and two or more episodes for Kate – was devoted to them. I’ve checked out YouTube and many people commented on how these two artists wouldn’t have been “discovered” (more like shoved into the glaring limelight) without the help of OTH.

But I’d like to focus this entry to Kate Voegele. Her website introduces Kate like this:

The musical landscape is teeming with singer/songwriters, many of them quite capable, but only a handful have something truly distinctive to offer. Kate Voegele belongs in the latter category. Don’t Look Away, Voegele’s first full-length album (MySpace Records), is a revelation…

My first thought upon hearing her, “Ok she sounds JUST LIKE Michelle Branch.” Her song has that distinct Country twang, she plays excellent guitar, and her voice is deep and soulful like Branch.

But I think what sets Kate from Michelle is her songs. Yes, they do have the same Country/Acoustic/Alternative Rock approach to it, but Kate’s songs are raw. They talk about love, live, and everything between.

My favorite song in the album is “Wish You Were.” The song is painful but the melody is happy (in a way). There’s something very honest in her words, like when she sings “It’s Only Life,” which is another favorite of mine.

People have commented that Kate’s music was nothing special. But I think she deserves a chance. If you haven’t heard/seen her, take a look at this YouTube video:

===

I was true as the sky is blue
I couldn’t soon say the same for you
So now I find denial in my eyes
I’m mesmerized by the picture that’s in my mind

Leave a Reply

 
