Inside out

Random musings in and outside the news

Odd, odd Beijing

Posted by Abi Kwok on August 10, 2008

I am really proud of my roots. For those who do not know it yet, I’m pure Chinese. Although my dad was raised in Hong Kong, he was born in China. But pardon this post, I just can’t help but laugh at how the Chinese translated their dishes for the Olympics.

Of course, the Chinese are known for being fancy and highly decorative. Just look at their beliefs alone and your heads will be spinning in no time. The name of their dishes are highly fancy there, but a literal translation will just be too weird!:-D

For example, would you eat a “chicken with no sex life” or a “red burned lions head”? I wouldn’t 😀

Here are some other examples:

  • 红烧狮子头: literally means “braised lion’s head”
  • 全家福:literally it means “Happy Family.”
  • 清蒸童子鸡: literally means “chicken without a sexual life.”
  • 夫妻肺片: literally means “husband and wife lung slices.”
  • 蚂蚁上树: literally means “ants climbing up a tree.”

After much brouhaha and confusion caused, the Chinese government opted to releasea a more…uh, sanitized translation. You can find the better translations here.

I’m still proud to be Chinese though, Filipino-Chinese to be exact 😀

2 Responses to “Odd, odd Beijing”

  1. snowwhitecinderella said

    My fathers girlfriend is Chinese too..

    Chinese people are very proud of their country. Although the olympics now are a bit over the top.. The opening ceremony was really… too big of a deal if you ask me..

    xx

    http://snowwhitecinderella.wordpress.com/

  2. Abi Kwok said

    Snowwhitecinderella: I have to agree. My dad’s pure Chinese and he’s super proud =)

Leave a Reply

 
