Inside out

Random musings in and outside the news

Looking back

Posted by Abi Kwok on July 30, 2008

I’ve been working as a reporter for INQUIRER.net more than half a year now and it’s been a rollercoaster ride so far — a rollercoaster of experiences and emotions that a year ago I would not have imagined myself getting into.

I must admit that there are times when I wonder why I’m here. I went back to ADMU two weeks ago and I got a copy of our publication’s 2007 graduation magazine. I reread my last column for the paper and I couldn’t help but smile at what I wrote. The first paragraph went:

“Do you really want to be a journalist?” That question kept hounding me these past few months. As I told my friends, I am currently undergoing a career crisis. After four years in the Ateneo, after two OJTs, and my thesis defense, I find myself standing in one of life’s crossroads: to pursue journalism or to enter the cut-throat corporate world.

I began working just three months after graduation. I worked in corporate twice before finally – hopefully – settling in media. Working for corporate was everything I wanted – or thought I wanted: it was predictable, safe, and logical. But somehow, the journalist in me would not let herself be satisfied with an 8-5 job, and to cut the long story short, here I am.

I am constantly learning, as I keep telling friends and colleagues. Sure, I make errors – plenty of them – along the way, but it’s all part of the learning process, right?

Leave a Reply

 
